Skip Navigation

Dane Walters Wins National Murrow Award For Art&Seek Video 10

Big congratulations and much celebrating at Art&Seek this weekend: KERA/KXT Producer/Editor Dane Walters was honored for Excellence in Video among large-market radio stations. The national Edward R. Murrow Award is one of the top honors in broadcasting.

Walters’ winning video, Art&Seek Spotlight: Jordan Mathis — Visual Time-Lapse Artist, earned a regional Murrow this spring. It was his third regional win in this category; this is his first national trophy.

Public radio stations in Texas collected two other national Murrows. One, for sports reporting among large radio stations, went to Alexandra Hart of Texas Standard, the statewide public radio newsmagazine that’s based at KUT in Austin and co-produced by KERA, Houston Public Media and Texas Public Radio in San Antonio. The other, for hard news among small radio stations, was presented to Mitch Borden of Marfa Public Radio.

KERA partner The Texas Tribune won two national Murrows. The Dallas Morning News earned one.

This is KERA’s second national Murrow. The first, in 2017, was also for a video: Thorne Anderson and Courtney Collins collected a trophy for part of the series, “One Crisis Away: Rebuilding A Life.”

The national Murrows usually are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association at a gala in New York City. Because of the pandemic, this year’s Oct. 10 ceremony was virtual. Here’s a complete list of national Edward R. Murrow Award winners.