Skip Navigation

The Van Cliburn’s Youth Movement 14
Anastasia Magamedova/Courtesy: The Cliburn

Contestant Anastasia Magamedova. Photo: The Cliburn

24 young pianists have been chosen to take part in the First Cliburn International Junior Piano Competition and Festival, happening June 21-28 on TCU’s campus in Fort Worth. The field includes teenage pianists ranging from 13-18 years old, coming from 13 different countries from around the world. It is the event’s first year, and was announced last January.

“This will be a competition that will help us establish relationships with the top international talent at an earlier age,” Cliburn President and CEO Jacques Marquis, said. “We are providing a valuable forum for them to express themselves and an entrance to the next step of their journeys.”

The selection committee whittled down the pool of 160 applicants to 24 contestants, vying for the first place prize of $10,000 cash and a $2,000 scholarship. First, they’ll have to survive four judged rounds with half the field cut after each round. The final round will be held June 28 with three pianists performing a concerto with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra.

The festival is comprised of five orchestra-related workshops and symposiums, and public performances by the contestants.

A subscription pass is available for $110 that includes a ticket to each concert, while single day passes range from $10-$40. They can be purchased at, at the Bass Hall Box Office or by calling 817.212.4280.

The list of the competitors and their age during competition:

Gavin Bala, Singapore, 16

Adam Balogh, Hungary, 17

Alim Beisembayev, Kazakhstan, 17

Anna Boonyanit, United States,16

Johanna Bufler, Germany, 16

Eoín Fleming, Ireland, 17

Misha Galant, United States, 17

Youlan Ji, China, 16

Davit Khrikuli, Georgia, 14

Yukine Kuroki, Japan, 16

Xiaoxuan Li, China, 13

Wei Luo, China, 16

Anastasia Magamedova, Tajikistan, 17

Gregory Martin, United States, 17

Evelyn Mo, United States, 16

Arsenii Mun, Russia, 16

Roger Shen, United States, 16

Amir Siraj, United States, 15

Clayton Stephenson, United States, 16

Zitong Wang, China, 16

Wai Yuen Wong, Hong Kong, 17

Natasha Wu, United States, 15

Tony Yike Yang, Canada, 16

Adria Ye, United States, 17